Let’s Get It Started…

It was an absolutely BEAUTIFUL day today! Temps in the low 70’s, sunshine and a breeze! What better time than to get some seeds in the ground!

Today I planted turnips, carrots, radishes, snap peas, swiss chard, broccoli, lettuce, spinach and kale. The only things I’ve ever grown before are the radishes and carrots, so this will be a learning experience. I don’t even know if I like kale or swiss chard – I’ve never had it. I just haven’t been able to justify spending the money for it, only to find that we detest it. But, I received the seeds as part of a monthly shipment from a seeds of the month club (see link below) that I had subscribed to, so I figured, what the hay? Might like it, might not. I can probably find someone to give it to if we don’t like it. (Then again, it might grow, it might not. Lol!)

The broccoli is truly an experiment. I only planted 4 seeds, because I want to see how it’s going to do. In my growing zone, it tends to get pretty darn hot toward the end of July, which according to the harvesting recommendation is when it will be ready. May be one of those things that I have to start earlier in the season and work to protect it from the crazy frosts we have from time to time before the middle of April. I try not to get my heart set on plants that are experiments, just in case they don’t work out. But, at the same time, I’m hopeful.

It felt so good to be out there with my hands in the dirt soaking up the Vitamin D! As I sit here now, my back and shoulders are aching, my knees are as muddy as a 4 year olds, and my nails look terrible! Will certainly have to take the nail scrub brush into the tub with me tonight, where I’m sure to leave a satisfactory dirt ring. But I wouldn’t trade a thing! There is something quite fulfilling for the mind, body and spirit after a hard day of enjoyable work outdoors. It was very pleasing to sit on my porch swing, looking over the newly planted and mulched garden, with the little markers in place, daydreaming about walking out my back door for salad fixings in a few weeks!

Now, here is my question to everyone of you out there…HOW DO I GET RID OF GRUBS?! This makes me all the more mad about not having my chickens anymore (see previous post ‘Busted By The Man’) and every dang time I dig up one of those nasty little alien looking credents, I get mad all over again! We have had temps as low as 6 degrees with 12″ of snow and ice, sleeting rain and yet the ^$(@#&%! LIVE! Ugh!!!! Does anyone have experience with something they’ve planted that the grubs can’t stand and will make them slither or crawl or teleport or however they move their nasty little selves around and LEAVE the garden? Any suggestions will be most helpful! Thank you in advance. 🙂

Until next time, take care and I hope you’re all starting to see spring around the corner in your neck of the woods!

http://www.averagepersonsgardening.com

3 thoughts on “Let’s Get It Started…

  1. Thanks for the humor -we can all use some every day! I love the “gallons of blood, sweat and tears”. Whenever you want to do something it always/usually means you have to do at least 3 other things first! And then it doesn’t come out as planned either, and you question whether it was worth all that effort. (And this can be on almost daily basis when you’re busy trying to do things that will improve your lot in life but it’s always things you’ve never done before!)

    This is the first post of yours that I’ve read, and I hope that you are at a place of calm -even peace- with your son’s Navy career now. [I think I know how you feel/felt. I’ve been working hard at keeping my own son from joining the military for almost 4 years now. He scored really high on that ASVAP test 2 yrs ago, so that’s how close he’s come to signing up. But, I always say there are pros and cons no matter what you do or where you go, and I would be SO proud even if tears were rolling down my face.]

    One thing that prompted me to to respond to this post was your question on grubs.
    I think the best way to control them is to simply dig around and find them – dump them into a bucket so there’s enough to go around at least one time….and then feed the chickens a snack!

  2. My Mum used to cook swiss chard (or silverbeet as we call it here) when I was a child and it would make me gag – she’s steam it – yuk! However we regularly grow it now and its beautiful pan fried with garlic in olive oil. I also like it finely sliced into lasagne or pasta sauce.

Leave a Reply

